

October 5, 2020

Right Honourable Justin Trudeau Prime Minister of Canada House of Commons * Ottawa, Ontario K1A 0A6 SENT VIA EMAIL: justin.trudeau@parl.gc.ca

Dear Prime Minister Trudeau

Again, Prime Minister, we wish to thank you and your Government for your Leadership during the Coronavirus Pandemic. We want to commend you for Friday's \$10 Billion announcement from the Canada Infrastructure Bank to continue the economic stimulus as our Country recovers.

Let me reassure you that Municipalities in Northeastern Ontario share your vision to address Canada's Climate Change targets, as Northerners are all concerned about the environment. We urge your Government to work with the Province of Ontario and the other Provinces on initiatives to meet those targets. Due to the vastness of Northern Ontario, electric municipal transit will only be practical in a few centres.

In 2016, The Federation of Northern Ontario Municipalities (FONOM) asked that Broadband be declared an Essential Service. Even with the considerable investment made by the Federal & Provincial Governments to date, there is still a significant area that can't connect with the world. We were encouraged that Broadband was included in your announcement, as it is one of our members' most pressing needs. As you know, we recently asked your Government to request the CRTC to consider licensing Canadian and International Satellite Companies to fill that need. We would hope the Canada Infrastructure Bank considers those companies when it allocates Broadband funding.

The FONOM Board looks forward to working with the upper levels of Government to grow the Canadian Economy. In this unprecedented time, only by working cooperatively will we persevere.

Respectfully,

Danny Whalen FONOM President



Cc: Premier Doug Ford Minister Navdeep Bains Honourable Anthony Rota Honourable Marc Serre Honourable Terry Sheehan Honourable Charlie Angus Honourable Carol Hughes Honourable Paul Lefebvre Honourable Scott Aitchison Min. Steve Clark Min. Laurie Scott Min. Victor Fedeli Min. Ross Romano Norm Miller, MPP Jamie West, MPP John Vanthof, MPP Gilles Brisson, MPP Michael Mantha, MPP